ARCHIVES 2015 has ended
Back To Schedule
Friday, August 21 • 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Awards Ceremony

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

SAA has a long and proud history of celebrating the accomplishments of members and friends of the archives profession.  The awards program helps us learn about innovative projects and publications, applaud young members of the profession receiving their first honors, and acknowledge the many contributions of our members.  Chances are good that someone you know is among those being recognized.  Please show your support!

Because SAA sponsors more than 20 award opportunities, recognitions will be made at special events throughout the meeting:

Plenary 1 - Thursday, August 20 - 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM 
  • SAA Fellows: Jelain Chubb, Texas State Archives; Kathy Marquis, Laramie, Wyoming; Kathleen Williams, National Historical Publications and Records Commission
  • J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award: Adrena Ifill Blagburn, Ifill/DoubleBack Global Group
  • Distinguished Service Award: Archives Leadership Institute

Plenary 2 - Friday, August 21 - 8:30 AM – 9:45 AM
  • Theodore Calvin Pease Award: Paige Hohmann, University of British Columbia
  • F. Gerald Ham and Elsie Ham Scholarship: Noah Geraci, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Mosaic Scholarship: Desiree Alaniz, Simmons College
  • Josephine Forman Scholarship: Maria E. Sanchez-Tucker, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • Donald Peterson Student Travel Award: Colin Post, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award: Talia Guzmán-González, University of Maryland, College Park and Rachel E. Winston, University of Texas at Austin
  • Oliver Wendell Holmes Award: Mary Grace Golfo, University of Manitoba
  • ARL/SAA Mosaic Program Fellows: Micha Broadnax, Joanna Chen, Adriana Flores, Harvey Long, Sara Powell
  • Council Exemplary Service Awards: Three awards to be given

Awards Ceremony - Friday, August 21 - 6:00 - 7:00 PM
  • Philip M. Hamer – Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award: The Legacy Center, Drexel University College of Medicine
  • Fellows’ Ernst Posner Award: Kit Hughes, Miami University
  • C.F.W. Coker Award: Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) Project
  • Waldo Gifford Leland Award: Michelle Caswell, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Preservation Publication Award: From Theory to Action: “Good Enough”Digital Preservation Solutions for Under-Resourced Cultural Heritage Institutions by Jaime Schumacher, Lynne M. Thomas, Drew VandeCreek, Stacey Erdman, Jeff Hancks, Aaisha Haykal, Meg Miner, Patrice-Andre Prud’homme, Danielle Spalenka. Preservation Publication Special Commendation: 2015 National Agendafor Digital Stewardship by National Digital Stewardship Alliance
  • Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P.,Memorial Award: Diane Wells, CA, Episcopal Diocese of Olympia (Seattle)
  • Spotlight Award: Anne Ostendarp, Knights of Columbus
  • Diversity Award: Samuel Proctor Oral History Program, University of Florida and Shorefront, Evanston, Illinois
  • Archival Innovator Award: State Archives of Florida’s Florida Memory Team: Katrina Harkness, Mark Nicolou, Josh Goodman, Adam Watson, Jody Norman, Derek Long
  • Emerging Leader Award: Cheryl Oestreicher, Boise State University


It’s not too early to begin planning fornext year! Visit http://www2.archivists.org/recognition.

Friday August 21, 2015 6:00pm - 7:00pm EDT
Grand Ballroom A Cleveland Convention Center, 300 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114

Attendees (0)